True story Award: Award for Journalist, Global Journalism Prize

The True Story Award is the first global journalism prize. Its aim is to make reporters’ voices known beyond the borders of their home countries, and in doing so to increase the diversity of perspectives offered in the media.

The True Story Award will be conferred by an independent foundation and honours reporters writing in 12 languages, who have distinguished themselves by the depth of their research, the quality of their journalism and its social relevance. Fifty jury members from 29 countries will select the 42 best texts of the year and then select a winner.

The winner will receive 30 000 Swiss francs in prize money, while the total prize money amounts to 177 000 Swiss francs.

The True Story Award is open to all journalists anywhere in the world who produce written reportage. Works can be submitted in the following 12 languages:

Arabic   العربية
Chinese   中文
English   English
French   Français
German   Deutsch
Hindi   हिन्दी
Italian   Italiano
Japanese   日本語
Persian   فارسی
Portuguese   Português
Russian   Pусский
Spanish   Español

Texts published in print or online between 1.1.2020 and 31.8.2020 are eligible. They may have been published in daily or weekly newspapers, magazines or on websites. Re-published texts, books and manuscripts are ineligible.

Texts must be submitted online. Then the three best texts per language/region will be selected – together with the second round of submissions – by the relevant jury by the end of October 2020. There are 14 language/region juries in all: one for each of the 12 languages represented, and two for texts from other languages translated into English.

Texts must be submitted by their authors.
The submission deadline is Monday, September 28, 2020, at 12 am (CET)

Facebook Comments Box

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *